board of trustees

Shane Akeroyd
Shane Akeroyd is an executive and president of IHS Markit, responsible for leading the firm’s activities in Asia Pacific, based in the company’s Hong Kong office. Shane is also a Trustee of Artists Space, New York and Para Site, Hong Kong. In addition, he supports many other UK and international institutions and their programmes. Shane’s interest in the arts as a collector began in 1989 and his now extensive global collection comprises all media and includes books.

Ed Atkins
Ed Atkins is an artist who lives and works in Berlin and Copenhagen. Recent solo presentations include K21, Düsseldorf, and Kunsthaus Bregenz (both 2019). Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin; MMK Frankfurt; DHC/ART, Montréal (all 2017); Castello di Rivoli and Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, Turin; The Kitchen, New York (2016); and Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2015). Ed is currently a guest professor at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Copenhagen. His exhibition Us Dead Talk Love was presented at Chisenhale Gallery in 2012.

May Calil
May Calil is Membership Director at Cromwell Place. She previously worked in Development at the Royal Academy and Tate before setting up May Calil Consultants in 2011. She has worked with a wide range of clients including Brunswick Arts, The Showroom, The British Council, Lux, Cass Sculpture Foundation, Frieze, Photo London and Bold Tendencies. She is also a board member of Liverpool Biennial, as well as a strategic advisor to Delfina Foundation.

Mark Godfrey
Dr. Mark Godfrey is Senior Curator, International Art at Tate Modern. At Tate, he has curated and co-curated exhibitions including Franz West; ‘Soul of a Nation’; Roni Horn AKA Roni Horn; Francis Alys: A Story of Deception; Gerhard Richter: Panorama; Alighierio Boetti: Game Plan; Richard Hamilton; Alibis: Sigmar Polke 1963-2011; and ‘Empty Lot’, the first Hyundai Turbine Hall commission, by Abraham Cruzvillegas. He also works on the Tate collection and is responsible for overseeing European and American acquisitions.

Andrew Haigh (Treasurer)
Andrew Haigh is a freelance consultant supporting entrepreneurs and an adviser and trustee for a number of arts and education organisations.  He was previously an Executive Director at Coutts, one of the UK’s leading wealth managers. Andrew is a Trustee of the Hepworth Wakefield, where he also chairs the Finance Committee; and the Royal College of Music, where he is also a member of the Audit Committee.

Andrew Hale
Andrew Hale is a musician who lives and works in London. A founding member of the band SADE, Andrew is based in London at Owlspace, a recording studio and art project space.  In addition to his work with SADE, Andrew is involved in a variety of music and art projects including provision of music for fashion companies including Versace, Fendi and Paul Smith, and creative direction for a European Property Fund. Together with his wife, jewellery designer Stephanie Simon, Andrew has built a collection of contemporary art and remains an active participant in the art programmes of museums and galleries in London and abroad. 

Paul Maheke
Paul Maheke is an artist based in London. He completed an MA Art Practice from École nationale supérieure d'arts de Cergy in 2011 and was an Associate of Open School East’s Programme of study in 2015. With a focus on dance and through a varied and often collaborative body of work comprising performance, installation, sound and video, Paul Maheke considers the potential of the body as an archive in order to examine how memory and identity is formed and constituted. His exhibition, A fire circle for a public hearing, premiered at Chisenhale Gallery in April 2018.

Helen Marten
Helen Marten is an artist who lives and works in London. She is an Honorary Fellow of Exeter College, University of Oxford and a member of the London Institute of Pataphysics. In 2016 she won the Turner Prize and the inaugural Hepworth Prize for Sculpture. She is currently working on her first novel. Chisenhale Gallery presented her first solo exhibition in a UK institution, Plank Salad, in 2012.

Keir McGuinness
Keir McGuinness is a management and art consultant with extensive experience working in governance with museums and galleries.  Keir is a trustee of a number of family and arts trusts, including Chair of Art360 and Vice-Chair of the Public Monuments and Sculpture Association (PMSA). He was formerly Chair of the trustees of Whitechapel Gallery and a juror of the Turner Prize in 2000.

Andrea Phillips
Dr Andrea Phillips is BALTIC Professor and Director of BxNU Research Institute, Northumbria University & BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art. Andrea lectures and writes about the economic and social construction of public value within contemporary art, the manipulation of forms of participation and the potential of forms of political, architectural and social reorganisation within artistic and curatorial culture.

Alice Rawsthorn (Chair)
Alice Rawsthorn OBE is an award-winning design critic and author with extensive experience of arts governance. As well as chairing Chisenhale Gallery’s board, she is chair of trustees at The Hepworth Wakefield in Yorkshire and a member of the government’s Arts and Media Honours Committee. A former trustee of the Whitechapel Gallery, Alice chaired the board of Michael Clark Company from 2015 to 2018 and was a trustee of Arts Council England from 2006 to 2015. A founding member of the Writers for Liberty campaign to champion human rights and freedoms, Alice was awarded an OBE for services to design and the arts.

Sam Talbot
Sam Talbot is a cultural communications consultant based in London, working internationally with leading commercial and public galleries, museums, art fairs, festivals, artists and curators. Prior to establishing his own consultancy in 2018, Sam held senior positions at a number of specialist PR agencies.


Previous Trustees include:

William Burlington, Sally Booth, Patrick Brill, Sian Davies (chair), Joel Donovan (chair), Stephen Escritt, Anupam Ganguli, Aphrodite Gonou, Piers Gough, Simon Hirtzel, Emma Kay, Deborah Keily, Priya Khanchandani, Stephen Kirk, Mark Leckey, Jimi Lee, Alicia Miller, Jessica Morgan, Rosalind Nashashibi, Camilla Nicholls (chair), Leslie Newey, Helena Pask, Cllr. Josh Peck, Niru Ratnam, Adam Reynolds, David Rice, Yinka Shonibare, Jane Sillis, Sally Tallant, Luiza Teixeira de Freitas, Sarah Weir, Jane Wentworth and Toby Ziegler.

  • Chisenhale Gallery
    64 Chisenhale Road
    London E3 5QZ

    T: +44 (0)20 8981 4518

    For media enquiries please contact: or
    Ellen Greig on +44 (0)20 3328 1964 or